Tinder has introduced a new feature for which it is being praised. The new feature added to the app allows the users to block certain people from up on their profiles using their phone numbers. With the help of this new feature, users will be able to block any person from the app by using their phone number and your profile won’t show up to them and theirs won’t show up to you.
This new feature of the app is called the Block Contacts feature which will allow the users to make sure that their Tinder profile is not visible to their friends, colleagues, family members, or anyone else they wish to avoid. Whether it is your ex, your cousin, your family members, or anyone else that you are connected to on a personal level, with the help of this feature, your profile won’t show up to them, no matter what.
This feature was introduced to the app after it was revealed through a survey that more than 78% of the Tinder users would prefer that their profile does not show up to someone they are personally connected to and were interested in blocking certain contacts on the app.
Users will get the option to load their full contact list onto the block list or any particular contacts that the users want to. Once a certain number is blocked, the blocked contacts won’t be notified about this and they won’t be able to see the profile.
For some people, it is embarrassing that if their personal connections find out that they are available and active on Tinder. This feature won’t save you from awkward run-ins but it will give you more control over your experience on Tinder and will empower users as they will get this power to block certain people and enjoy sparking new connections on Tinder.
How to Block Your Contacts On Tinder?
If you are a Tinder user and want to block your contacts on Tinder then here is how you can do so:
- Open the Tinder App and go to the Settings (under the profile icon).
- Here, scroll down and select the Block Contacts option. Tap on the Import Contacts button. The app will ask permission for your contacts, grant the permission.
- Once you grant the permission, select the contacts that you want to block.
- Once you have selected the contacts, just click on Block Contacts and your profile won’t show up to the blocked contacts ever again.
The block will be applied once you select and block the contacts. Whether the selected contact already has a Tinder profile or they make one in the future, the block will be applicable. If at any time you feel like unblocking a contact then head to the block list and tap on the Unblock button next to the contact to unblock that person.
Users are very pleased with this feature because they really wanted this feature on board and now it is available to all users. This feature is especially helpful to block out your exes and abusers but it can also be helpful to block other people such as a close friends group or family members. However, it can also cause problems for some people as it can make it easier for some people to cheat on their partners without them even knowing that you are using Tinder. Overall, it is a great addition to the app.